Go Back   gprime.net boards > projects and submissions > ask an expert

ask an expert stuck on your flash movie? can't get your program to work? ask an expert!

Old 10-15-2005, 04:17 AM   #1
Ilikepandas

Tournaments Won: 1

Default I need serious help with this- no crappy amateurs- major actionscript skill needed...

Okay, does anyone on this forum know how I can modify a movieclip's depth while playing a movie? What I mean is....

When a character in a game walks above another movieclip, he goes behind it.

When a character goes below of another movieclip he goes in front of it.

Because my actionscript is self taught, I usually find messy ways to overcome problems like these. I have managed to make this depth problem work for still objects but what I need is this to work for moving characters, which I have not found a good way to work. I know there is this swapDepth() thing but that doesn't seem to work very well in this situaion.

Anyone have any ideas? OR maybe a site that can help me here?
Old 10-15-2005, 02:07 PM   #2
VooDoo

No offense panda i have no idea what your talking about, and yes i do understand actionscript before you say thats the reason you don't understand then.
Old 10-15-2005, 05:16 PM   #3
Ilikepandas

Hmmm.. I was hoping you would know something because you're the best actionscripter on this forum from what i can see. I think I just didn't explain it very well. My apologies.
What my problem is (More technically):

Okay say theres a game and you can walk around.

When a guys _y value is higher than another objects in a movie, he goes behind it.

When his _y value is less than that of the object, he goes in front.
Therefore this would be achieving a 3d effect similar to that of 2d beatemup kind of games.