PDA

View Full Version : BIOS mode on an Hp


rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 07:18 PM
How the hell do I get into the BIOS mode on an Hp? I've been trying to figure it out, but it just goes straight to the operating system on startup, instead of giving me an option to go into BIOS. How would I access BIOS on the Hp?

(I'm trying to reinstall Windows on my mother's cpu)

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 07:32 PM
You'll have to hit a key before Windows boots, try the F keys and Delete. I believe HP uses ASUS motherboards, so you could look it up on their site.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 07:41 PM
ok, fine.if you really want to know. its the ESC key, on the POST.

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 07:42 PM
Well I have no experience with HPs. :)

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 07:44 PM
On the POST?

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 07:48 PM
On the POST?POST= Power On Self Test. when the HP logo shows up. its posting. just turn on your computer. and start rapidly pressing escape.

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:00 PM
Or just once when your keyboard is recognized.

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 08:05 PM
I have gotten it into the BIOS, but now it gives me three boot options:
1. ATAPI CD
2. Hard Drive
3. Other device


Now I know that I have to boot from the cd, but what the hell does ATAPI mean?

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:13 PM
It's the CD drive; EW OLD!

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:15 PM
I have gotten it into the BIOS, but now it gives me three boot options:
1. ATAPI CD
2. Hard Drive
3. Other device


Now I know that I have to boot from the cd, but what the hell does ATAPI mean?ATAPI is an interface.

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 08:16 PM
Alright...now I'm starting to feel like I have no Idea what I'm doing. (I'm not familiar with Hp's) I mean I've reinstalled windows on my system, but it's complicated on Hp systems! Once I select to boot from cd and I put the cd in the drive (after restarting of course) it just boots windows normally!

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:17 PM
Alright...now I'm starting to feel like I have no Idea what I'm doing. (I'm not familiar with Hp's) I mean I've reinstalled windows on my system, but it's complicated on Hp systems! Once I select to boot from cd and I put the cd in the drive (after restarting of course) it just boots windows normally!1st boot device should be ATPI CDROM. stick the windows CD in the drive, and restart the computer.

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:18 PM
Because it's all OEM, installing a new OS may not be a great idea.

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 08:20 PM
May I ask what an OEM is?

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:22 PM
Original Equipment Manufacturer.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:22 PM
it means is signature to the company you machine is. AKA HP. HP includes other things in the windows installation, that only apply to HP computers.

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 08:24 PM
But just applications, things like Hp learning center. Right?

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:24 PM
But just applications, things like Hp learning center. Right?
Bloatware, yes.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:34 PM
i call it vendor-wear. but whatever

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:36 PM
Bloatware: Bloats Windoze

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:37 PM
Bloatware: Bloats Windozeyes, i know, but i think vendor-ware sounds better. ;)

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 08:43 PM
yes, i know, but i think vendor-ware sounds better. ;)
But bloat is all it does. :)

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 08:54 PM
I reinstalled. I'm closing this thread in approxomately ten minutes. SPAM NOW!@!!!!fldj;fejfheli;fh;fj;lhj!!!!Jlijflj;l!!!

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 08:56 PM
wow, a request for spam, im impressed...

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 09:02 PM
HP sucks.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 09:04 PM
HP sucks.not really. just because their PC's arn't speed demons, doesnt mean they suck. dell however does suck. i found a 110W power supply. that couldnt power a flashlight.

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 09:16 PM
HPs and Dells don't actually suck, however Dells come with way to much bloatware.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 09:21 PM
HPs and Dells don't actually suck, however Dells come with way to much bloatware.I found a 110W power supply in my computer. and you're telling me they dont suck?

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 09:38 PM
I purchased a very cheap computer, and expected more than I payed for
That sounds fine. Also, did the computer work with this 110 watt powersupply?

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 09:41 PM
That sounds fine. Also, did the computer work with this 110 watt powersupply?no, actually i got it for free. the retail price was $600. the power supply died 3 weeks later. FYI

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 09:49 PM
no, actually i got it for free. the retail price was $600. the power supply died 3 weeks later. FYI
I've had a lot of experience with Dells, yes they put cheap parts in (Just like every other OEM) but overall they're not horrible, aside their bloatware issues.

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 09:53 PM
I've had a lot of experience with Dells, yes they put cheap parts in (Just like every other OEM) but overall they're not horrible, aside their bloatware issues.another thing is tech support. Dell's tech support is really failing...

Atomic1fire
02-16-2006, 09:56 PM
you would be alot better off just paying a compy nerd or being one to do it instead of widdling away space before you even start using it

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 09:56 PM
another thing is tech support. Dell's tech support is really failing...
Nearly every large corporation's tech support sucks. Also if you buy their XPS line, they have a different tech support number you call that features Americans!

MrNaPaLm32
02-16-2006, 09:57 PM
Nearly every large corporation's tech support sucks. Also if you buy their XPS line, they have a different tech support number you call that features Americans!gateways tech support is US based.

Heyyou27
02-16-2006, 10:01 PM
Only Gateway I've ever owned was my Intel 486; it's godly.

rehabisforquitters
02-16-2006, 10:01 PM
Yes, yes it does. That's why I only use custom cpu's.